Archive for March 4, 2010

New AuthorTracker!


Hi everyone,
It’s only a matter of weeks until Warriors: Omen of the Stars #2: Fading Echoes comes out at the end of March – and I can’t wait to come on tour in April to discuss it with you all! No doubt most of you will have read it by then and have dozens of questions to fire at me. Note to self: re-read the book on the plane! I’m thinking about Book Four right now, so I need to do a mental rewind and catch up to the current story. More details of my tour will be posted on http://www.warriorcats.com as soon as they’re available, so keep checking!

Remember how I promised to listen more than talk in the January letter? Well, it paid off handsomely during a recent trip to Ireland. Although I was there for a funeral, it felt like a very positive, celebratory occasion, and it was a great chance to meet some members of the last generation of rural Irishmen (and women!) who had grown up during the middle of the twentieth century. Back then, life in Ireland was very different even from countries like England and America. It was unusual for houses to have electricity or running water, and children often left school at thirteen to work on the family farm or run the house while their parents worked. I was enchanted to hear about cows being milked by hand, and courtships that went on for years because a boy was too shy to ask a girl out on a date. Girls never asked first back then! It’s surprising how much you can find out if you’re brave enough to ask a few searching questions. Maybe your mission this month should be to track down a local elder and learn something about their childhood. The older the elder, the better the stories, in my experience…
Enjoy the upcoming festival of bears, and keep an eye on the website to see if I’m coming anywhere near you in April!

With love and good wishes,

Erin x